Gregynnog 2015

This years MA weekend at Greggynog so far…

Us 2nd years were told we’d be staying in the Cottage, separate from Gregynnog hall. Whilst I liked the idea of no phone signal, not internet and no television, the cottage has all three. Thanks Stapes! So I’m sat here plugging away at the 2nd draft of my major project, a radio play I’m working on called ‘Swimming Lessons’ and updating my blog, all whilst watching the rugby on Sky digital. Could’t be happier.

The food here is great and the country air is so refreshing. Whilst sat in my room pondering the mysteries of the universe I noticed how quiet it is out here compared to living in a city. The silence is deafening. I’m starting to feel like I really needed to get away from the city and noticing how burnt out I feel.

Something which I’ve found very useful this weekend was the slate development workshop with Jesse Shwenk. He asked us to write a brief blurb of three of the projects were working on, and writing them out in this short and succinct way has helped me recognise some of the key points and themes in my own writing. So here are the two I’m working on this weekend:

Y Darlun

A sixty minute theatre drama about a crumbling quarry town family set during the longest industrial action in European history. The play explores themes of family, ego, community, sacrifice and loss through the voice of a brother and sister who struggle to help one another whilst failing to help themselves. Through the medium of Welsh the play metaphorically examines the the collapse of culture, community and family under the weight of industrialisation.

Swimming lessons

A coming of age radio drama about a teenage boy who develops a debilitating obsessive anxiety disorder through neglect and drug abuse. He slowly learns to overcome his anxieties and insecurities by teaching himself to swim. The play explores themes of neglect, existentialism and rejuvenation, whilst attempting to convey the chaotic inner workings of the mind through surrealistic humour and a disjointed inner and external narrative.

Leave a Reply

